Lime and Mint Sorbet + Bonus Recipe

Lime sorbet and I have a love-hate sort of a relationship. When its made well, the sourness of the lime juice is kept in check by just the right amount of sweetness from the added sugar. When its made poorly, it tastes like you’re sucking on a freshly cut lime, which for me is less than appealing.

I had the opportunity to try both a lime sorbet and a fresh mint chip ice cream side by side the other day, and I was truly blown away by the flavor combination. Although mint and lime are both very strong flavors by themselves, when combined, they bring out each other’s best qualities.

This haphazard tasting session inspired me to combine these flavors into a single frozen treat, so I decided to make a mint-infused lime sorbet. I used a Bearss lime for this recipe, which is a less acidic and bitter lime variety than the more common key lime [Wikipedia]. I also used the Bearss lime because I happened to come across it at my local farmer’s market while en-route to buying a bunch of fresh mint 😀

Without further adieu, here’s my mint-infused lime sorbet recipe! I hope you enjoy it. Also, stick around to the end of this post for a bonus recipe: Cara Cara Orange Sorbet.

Bearss Lime and Mint Sorbet Recipe
Ingredients
1.5 cups Bearss lime juice (10-15 limes)
½ cup sugar
2 tablespoons light corn syrup
2 tablespoons Cointreau
1 bunch fresh mint

Procedure

  1. Juice your limes, filter the juice through a fine sieve to remove solids, and reserve 1.5 cups of juice (if you have less juice, adjust the amount of sugar accordingly)
  2. Put the sugar, juice, light corn syrup, and Cointreau in a small saucepan; cook on medium heat, stirring frequently, until the sugar is dissolved into the juice
  3. Take the saucepan off the heat, add your fresh mint leaves, and cover; let the mint infuse into the sorbet base for 10-30 mins OR until the intensity of the mint flavor is to your liking
  4. Once the mint is finished steeping, pour the sorbet base through a fine sieve into a tupperware container, and let it chill for several hours or overnight
  5. Once the sorbet base is thoroughly chilled, prepare a large bowl filled halfway with ice and Ice Cream Salt
  6. Pour the sorbet base into a smaller bowl, and place it on top of the large bowl, pushing it in until the ice covers the sides halfway up the bowl
  7. Whisk the sorbet using a hand mixer for 2 mins
  8. Cover the sorbet base bowl with a towel and place it, including the ice bowl, into the freezer for at least 45 mins
  9. After 45 mins, remove from freezer and whisk for an additional 2 mins, breaking up any large chunks of frozen sorbet
  10. Repeat this process until the sorbet is mostly frozen, and not too slushy (maybe 4 or 5 total iterations)
  11. Pour/scrape the sorbet into a freezer-safe container, and let it sit in the freezer for at least 4 hours before consumption and enjoyment

Observations / Improvements for next time
Overall, this mint-infused lime sorbet experiment came out tasting amazing! The mint adds refreshing tones to the sour lime flavor. The first bite is a bit intense, but after a few you’ll quickly become addicted.

Next time, I will not let the mint steep for quite as long. I steeped it for 20 minutes, and while I enjoy the mint flavor very much, it is really minty. I will probably pull the mint out at the 10 minute mark. Hot steeping also captured some of the bitterness of the mint, so perhaps next time I will try cold steeping the mint leaves instead.

This sorbet also came out a little more slushy than I like. I prefer my sorbet to be firm enough that I am able to scoop a ball of it with my ice cream scooper. Next time, I will cut the amount of Cointreau I use in half, and this should do the trick.

Bonus Recipe – Cara Cara Orange Sorbet
Ingredients
2 cups Cara Cara orange juice (6-8 oranges)
½ cup sugar
2 tablespoons light corn syrup

Procedure
Follow same procedure for Bears Lime and Mint Sorbet above, skipping step 3.

This sorbet came out really delicious, and it captures the flavor of the Cara Cara orange very well!

Leave a Reply

